The importance of the upper cervical region

Writted by Dr Mikaël Reney15 April 2014 Categories: Non classé @en

The upper cevical region is extremely important for the proper function of the human body, it is the link between the brain and the rest of your body. It contains the brain stem, a part of the brain controlling vital functions, such as blood pressure, heart rate, breathing rate, …

The brain stem also controls all postural muscles.

The upper cervical region is also VERY FRAGILE. It is very important to take good care of it. Here is why this region is fragile.

It should be noted that the occiput is one of the skull’s bones and the skull is larger than the occiput only.

Side view of the upper cervical spine

latcervlatcerv+mark

1. Joints between occiput, C1 and C2 (upper cervical) have a nearly horizontal angulation (slightly curved), which makes them vulnerable to injuries and shocks. The other cervical vertebrae’s joints are tilted, which gives them a higher stability. The vertebrae of the rest of the back rest and joints that are tilted too.
Front view of the upper cervical spine

apcervapcerv+mark

2. The function of intervertebral discs is to absorb shocks and stabilize the structure of the spine. It is quite clear that the upper cervical region (occ, C1, C2) does not have ANY INTERVERTEBRAL DISC, which lowers the stability of this region. Lower down the neck, the discs are present and become thicker and thicker as we move down the column.
tete-vs-atlastete-vs-atlas2 3. Here is another reason why this region is unstable. The mobility of the head is in large part due to upper cervical movement. It is therefore important that the region is in perfect alignment to keep the weight of the head (7000 grams) and gravity (1 ton of atmospheric pressure) in alignment to the Atlas (50 grams). The Atlas misaligns easily, thus the center of gravity of the head is shifted and that creates enormous stress on the nervous system…
rotation 4. A person can usually turn their head from left to right by about 80 degrees on each side (almost parallel to the shoulder). 40-50 degrees of that rotation is between the Atlas and the Axis, which would be about 50%.
flex-ext 5. About lowering the chin to the chest (flexion) and lift the chin in the air (extension), the total movement between these two positions is about 110 degrees, 45 degrees between the occiput and the atlas or about 40%.

If we summarize, therefore, the upper cervical spine is:

    • Vulnerable, to impacts and trauma
    • Unstable, given the lack of intervertebral disc
    • Crucial, because the heavy weight of the head over this region
    • Highly mobile, to allow movement of the head

 

Moreover, the nervous system in the upper cervical region houses most of the reticular formation, which is the part of the nervous system that controls the conciousness level of a person (arousal, sleep), their attention span or the acuity of their senses.

Here are other reasons why the upper cervical region is important:

  • It has much more proprioceptive fibers (perception of body in space) than any other region
  • More ligaments support this region, but they are also weaker
  • The muscles that move the region are more precise and smaller
  • The nerve fibers that give orders to muscles moving C1 (Atlas) are the nerve fibers of C1. So if the Atlas is out of alignment, the muscles that hold the Atlas can not keep it in position, because the nerve supply is impaired. The muscles that hold the rest of the cervical, thoracic and lumbar spine (the rest of the back and neck) are fed by multiple nerves, which prevents this situation from happening.

 

 

Did you like this article?

L’importance de la région des hautes cervicales

Article rédigé par le Dr. Mikaël Reney15 avril 2014 Catégories: Non classé

La région des hautes cervicales est une région du corps qui est extrêmement importante, car elle est le lien entre le cerveau et le reste du corps. Elle contient aussi le bulbe rachidien, qui contrôle des fonctions vitales, telles la pression artérielle, le rythme cardiaque, le rhytme respiratoire,…

Le bulbe rachidien contrôle aussi tous les muscles de la posture.

C’est une région qui est aussi TRÈS FRAGILE. Il est donc important d’en prendre soin. Voici pourquoi cette région est fragile.

Il est à noter que l’occiput est un des os du crâne, et que le crâne est plus gros que l’occiput seul.

Vue de côté de l’ossature des hautes cervicales

1. L’angle des articulations entre Occiput, C1 et C2 (les hautes cervicales) est dans une orientation presque horizontale (légèrement courbée), ce qui les rend vulnérable aux coups et ondes de chocs. Les autres vertèbres du cou sont inclinées, ce qui leur donne une stabilité importante. Les vertèbres du reste du dos ont cette caractéristique d’inclinaison aussi.

apcerv+mark

2. La fonction des disques intervertébraux est d’absorber les chocs et de stabiliser la structure de la colonne vertébrale. On voit très bien que la région des hautes cervicales (Occ, C1, C2) ne possède PAS DE DISQUE intervertébraux, ce qui retire de la stabilité à cette région. Sous cette région, les disques sont présents et deviennent de plus en plus épais plus on descend la colonne.

3. Il y a une raison pourquoi cette région est instable. La mobilité de la tête est en grande partie due au mouvement des hautes cervicales. Il est donc important que cette région soit en parfaite fonction pour maintenir le poids de la tête (7000 grammes) et de la gravité (1 tonne de pression atmosphérique) sur l’Atlas (50 grammes). L’Atlas se désalignant facilement, le centre de gravité de la tête est déplacé créant des stress énormes sur le système nerveux.

4. Un individu peut normalement tourner la tête de gauche à droite à peu près jusqu’à 80 degrés de chaque côté (presque parallèle à l’épaule). 40 à 50 degrés de cette rotation se fait entre l’Atlas et l’Axis, donc environ 50%.

5. Pour ce qui est de porter le menton vers le thorax (flexion) et lever le menton dans les airs (extension), le mouvement total entre ces deux positions est d’environ 110 degrés, dont 45 degrés entre l’Occiput et l’Atlas, soit environ 40%.

Si nous résumons donc, la région des hautes cervicales est:
Vulnérable aux coups et ondes de chocs
Instable, vu le manque de disque intervertébraux
Cruciale, car le lourd poids de la tête y repose
Très mobile, pour permettre les mouvements de la tête
De plus, le système nerveux dans la région des hautes cervicales contient une bonne partie de la formation réticulaire qui est la structure qui régit l’état de conscience d’un individu, autant son niveau d’éveil/sommeil que sa capacité d’assimilation d’information ou l’acuité de ses sens.

Voici d’autres raisons pourquoi la région des hautes cervicales est importante :

Elle compte un nombre beaucoup plus élevé de fibres proprioceptives (perception du corps dans l’espace) que les autres régions
Les ligaments qui supportent cette région sont plus nombreux, mais plus fragiles
Les muscles qui font bouger cette région sont plus précis et plus petits
Les fibres nerveuses qui donnent des ordres aux muscles bougeant C1 (l’Atlas) sont les fibres nerveuses de C1. Donc si l’Atlas est hors-alignement, les muscles qui tiennent l’Atlas ne peuvent le garder en position, car l’alimentation nerveuse est diminuée. Les muscles qui tiennent le reste des cervicales, des thoraciques et des lombaires (le reste du dos et du cou) sont alimentés par de multiples troncs nerveux, ce qui empêche cette situation.

Avez-vous apprécié cet article ?